Logo Programme Proches

Quebec Reimbursement Program for Family and Close Friends
of Deceased Victims of a Criminal Act

Reimbursement Program

Every year in Quebec, many people lose loved ones as the result of a criminal act (homicide, criminal negligence, impaired driving, death caused by dangerous driving, etc.). Attending the subsequent legal proceedings[1] can become a heavy financial burden for the family and close friends of the victim, especially since it is not unusual for such proceedings to be held in another city and to extend over several weeks (between 19 and 26 days on average).

It is important to recognize, however, that attending legal proceedings can provide loved ones with a valuable opportunity to obtain answers to certain questions and to honour the memory of the deceased. It can also contribute to their recovery process after the loss of a loved one.

In spite of these benefits, the costs related to attending legal proceedings can constitute a serious obstacle to the presence of close family and friends. It should not be necessary for them to go into debt in order to be able to attend or to be forced to decide if they can afford to do so at all.

The objective of the Quebec reimbursement Program is to reduce the social and financial difficulties resulting from expenses incurred by the victim’s loved ones by offering them better support for attending legal proceedings. The Program proposes to reimburse travel, accommodation, meals and parking expenses incurred while attending legal proceedings up to a maximum of $2,000 per person, subject to certain conditions.

[1] The Program also reimburses expenses incurred to attend hearings at the Review Board for Mental Disorder.

Eligibility criteria

The objective of the Program is to reimburse family members and close friends of deceased victims of criminal acts for certain expenses incurred while attending legal proceedings.

* Please note that applications will not actually be processed before February 28, 2019. Reimbursements will be retroactive to January 28, however, based on the terms and conditions of the Program and subject to presentation of receipts.

  1. Expenses will be eligible for reimbursement as of January 28, 2019 in the following cases* :
    • at each step in the legal proceedings
    • during legal proceedings held at the Court of Québec (Criminal and Penal Division and Youth Division), the Superior Court of Québec and the Court of Appeal of Québec
    • during proceedings at the Review Board for Mental Disorder.
  2. The criminal act must have been committed in Quebec.
  3. Program eligibility is not limited to homicides, but includes all criminal acts causing death, such as criminal negligence, impaired driving and death caused by dangerous driving.

Who can apply for reimbursement?

Any family member or close friend of a person who died as the result of a criminal act may submit a request. “Family and close friends” include any person related to the deceased person by birth, by marriage or by some other very close relationship with the deceased person (such as a close friend or other significant person).

Priority will be given to immediate family members:

  • spouse of the deceased victim
  • child of the deceased victim
  • father and mother of the deceased victim
  • brother and sister of the deceased victim
  • grandfather and grandmother of the deceased victim.

A maximum of two family members or significant persons may apply for reimbursement. Each applicant may subsequently allow a companion of their choosing to have their expenses reimbursed by including them in their maximum amount of $2,000.

When should applications be submitted?

We recommend that you submit your application as soon as possible after legal proceedings have begun and that you keep all your bills and receipts.

  • Family and close friends who wish to benefit from the advantages offered by this program must send the appropriate form to the address indicated on the form within six months of the accused’s first court appearance (the date the accused was told to appear before the Court).
  • In cases when an important step—such as a preliminary inquiry, assigned trial or guilty plea—is scheduled for an earlier date, applicants must send in the appropriate form two weeks before the date of the step in question at the latest.

The earliest date takes precedence.


  • If the accused is found unfit to stand trial or not responsible on account of mental disorder, applicants must send in their form two weeks before the first hearing at the Review Board for Mental Disorder.

For more information on the different steps in the judicial process.

These deadlines are necessary in order to allow sufficient time to identify the two applicants in the event that more than two people submit an application. After the deadline, an application may still be accepted if two applicants have not already been accepted by the Program.

What expenses are reimbursed?

Travel, meals, accommodation and parking expenses are all eligible for reimbursement. The Program does not provide compensation for loss of income or childcare expenses, however.

There is a maximum reimbursement of $2,000 per applicant. This amount includes the expenses of the applicant’s companion(s).

If a family member or close friend receives a summons to appear as a witness in court, his or her expenses will be paid by the Director of Criminal and Penal Prosecutions.

N.B.: It is not possible to be reimbursed twice for the same expense, even if you are eligible for reimbursement under more than one Program.

How to submit an application

Applications may be submitted in any of the following ways:

Logo Programme Proches

Programme québécois de remboursement pour les proches de personnes décédées à la suite d’un acte criminel

Le programme de remboursement

Chaque année au Québec, des personnes perdent un être cher à la suite d’un acte criminel (homicides, négligence criminelle, conduite avec facultés affaiblies et conduite dangereuse causant la mort, etc.). Le fait d’assister aux procédures judiciaires[1] peut devenir un important fardeau économique pour les proches. Il n’est pas rare que celles-ci s’échelonnent sur plusieurs semaines (entre 19 et 26 jours de cour en moyenne) et se déroulent dans une autre ville que celle où habitent les proches.

D’un autre côté, le fait d’assister aux procédures judiciaires peut être un moment déterminant dans la quête de certaines réponses et être une occasion pour honorer la mémoire du défunt. Cela peut également contribuer au processus de rétablissement suite à la perte d’un être cher.

Les frais reliés aux procédures judiciaires peuvent constituer un frein à la présence des proches, et ce malgré l’importance que celles-ci revêtent pour elles. Les gens touchés par ces drames ne devraient pas avoir à s’appauvrir pour y assister, ou encore remettre en cause leur présence pour des raisons financières.

Ce programme de remboursement vise à atténuer l’appauvrissement social et financier que représentent les dépenses encourues par les proches et à leur offrir un meilleur soutien pour assister aux procédures judiciaires. Il propose de rembourser les frais de déplacement, d’hébergement, de repas et de stationnement encourus au moment des procédures judiciaires, jusqu’à concurrence d’un montant maximal de 2000$ et sous certaines conditions.

[1] Le Programme rembourse également les frais pour assister aux audiences à la Commission d’examen des troubles mentaux.

Les critères d’admissibilité

Ce programme vise à offrir le remboursement de certains frais aux proches de personnes victimes décédées à la suite d’un acte criminel pour assister aux procédures judiciaires criminelles.

* Veuillez prendre note que les premières demandes ne seront traitées qu’à partir de la semaine du 28 février. Des rétroactions seront toutefois applicables jusqu’au 28 janvier, sur présentations de reçus et selon les modalités du programme.

  1. Les remboursements sont admissibles à compter du 28 janvier 2019* :
    • à chacune des étapes du processus judiciaire (Étapes du processus judiciaire);
    • pour les procédures judiciaires ayant lieu à la Cour du Québec (Chambre criminelle et pénale et Chambre de la jeunesse), à la Cour Supérieure ainsi qu’à la Cour d’appel;
    • à la Commission d’examen des troubles mentaux.
  2. L’acte criminel doit être survenu au Québec.
  3. L’admissibilité au programme n’est pas limitée aux cas d’homicides, mais à tous les actes criminels causant la mort, tels que la négligence criminelle, la conduite avec facultés affaiblies et la conduite dangereuse causant la mort.

Qui peut faire une demande ?

Tout proche d’une personne décédée à la suite d’un acte criminel peut faire une demande. Est considérée comme «proche» toute personne liée par la naissance, par alliance ou par d’autres relations avec la personne décédée (par exemple : amis, personnes significatives).

La priorité sera donnée à la famille immédiate :

  • le conjoint ou la conjointe de la victime décédée
  • l’enfant de la victime décédée
  • le père et la mère de la victime décédée
  • le frère et la sœur de la victime décédée
  • le grand-père et la grand-mère de la victime décédée

Deux proches au maximum peuvent être admis comme demandeurs. Chaque demandeur pourra ensuite permettre à un accompagnateur de son choix de se faire rembourser ses dépenses en les incluant dans son montant maximal de 2000$.

Quand faire une demande ?

Il est suggéré de faire une demande le plus tôt possible à partir du moment où des procédures judiciaires sont entamées et de conserver toutes vos pièces justificatives.

  • Les proches qui souhaitent se prévaloir des avantages du programme doivent acheminer le formulaire prévu à cette fin dans les six mois de la date de comparution  de l’accusé à l’adresse indiquée sur ledit formulaire.
  • Dans le cas où une étape importante telle que l’enquête préliminaire, le procès assigné ou l’enregistrement d’un plaidoyer de culpabilité est prévue plus tôt, les proches devront acheminer le formulaire prévu à cette fin au plus tard deux semaines avant la tenue de l’étape en question.

C’est donc la date qui arrive en premier dans le temps qui prévaut.


  • Dans le cas d’un un verdict de non-responsabilité criminelle pour cause de troubles mentaux ou d’inaptitude à subir un procès, les proches doivent faire parvenir leur formulaire au plus tard deux semaines avant la tenue de la première audience à la Commission d’examen des troubles mentaux.

Pour plus d’informations sur les différentes étapes du processus judiciaire :
Étapes du processus judiciaire

Ces délais sont nécessaires afin de permettre d’identifier les deux demandeurs dans l’éventualité où plus de deux personnes feraient des demandes. Après ces délais, une demande sera toujours recevable si deux proches n’ont pas été reconnus comme demandeurs par le programme.

Quels sont les frais remboursés ?

Les frais de déplacement, de repas, d’hébergement et de stationnement pourront être remboursés. Le programme ne dédommage pas pour la perte de salaire ou les frais de garde.

Maximum de 2000$ par demandeur. Ce montant comprend les frais de son ou ses accompagnateurs.

Dans le cas où un proche serait assigné à comparaître (c’est-à-dire ordonné de comparaître comme témoin devant le tribunal), les frais encourus par cette personne seront plutôt assumés par le Directeur des poursuites criminelles et pénales.

A noter que vous ne pourrez pas obtenir de double remboursement pour une même dépense, advenant le cas où vous seriez admissibles à des remboursements dans le cadre d’un autre programme.

Comment faire une demande ?

Vous pouvez :